The Power of Blog

Last week I mentioned how much I enjoy Lee Goldberg’s blog ‘A Writer’s Life’. The great man not only replied but offered me some advice: “Go home Tim. You can’t write!” No seriously. With typical modesty he sent me towards some OTHER writers’ blogs. And d’you know they’re so good I feel compelled to share them with you.

Ken Levine. Written for M*A*S*H, Cheers, Simpsons, Becker and Frasier. This is easily the best description of the madness surrounding Michael Jackson’s death I have read. If only newspapers were this good.

I know Lisa Klink’s work through Star Trek: Voyager, an underrated show. Her site is stuffed full of good advice. She even includes information about forthcoming openings. Though sadly not one of them turned out to be in Malvern, England.

I wasn’t familiar with Denis McGrath, but the guy has a cracking sense of humour. Anyone who thinks up Top Gun: the Musical must be worth reading. His blog sent me to these thoughts on Farrah Fawcett. I’ve never thought about Charlie’s Angels so deeply!

Alex Epstein is a Canadian script writer and author. As soon as I saw his blog I thought: major find. The links alone ensure “I’ll be back.”

John August has written and directed features like Charlie’s Angels, and Nines. Love his attitude. He describes his own project Charlie’s Angels: Full Throttle as a trainwreck. I highly recommend this post: The purpose of drama, and its relationship to Cameron Diaz’s ass.

One thing I noticed about all of these writers. They’re fun to be around. Peering in from the outside TVland can seem a tad bitter and twisted. Yet while each of these writers is clearly driven, each one is good company. It’s easy to see why people would want to employ them.

About microfilums

Writer & director.
This entry was posted in blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

